ndi kitware

MICCAI 2010 Young Scientist Awards (Co-sponsored by NDI and Kitware)

Best paper prizes in 5 different categories for young scientists presenting their first papers at MICCAI. For these awards, the first author should be a full-time student at the time of submission at a recognized universtiy or have been a full-time student within the past 2 years. For MICCAI 2010, the Young Scientist Awards were coordinated by Sebastien Ourselin, University College London.

  • 22 highest normalized score papers with first author a graduate student or early career scientist (22 eligible out of the Top 30 papers)
  • 11 Europe, 10 North America, 1 Asia/Australasia
  • Award Committee voted on selecting the Top 15 papers before the conference
  • Award Committee voted on ranking the Top 15 papers during the conference


Top 15 Papers (in order of appearance in the program)

  • Automated macular pathology diagnosis in retinal OCT images using multi-scale spatial pyramid with local binary patterns, Yu-Ying Liu, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
  • Model-based esophagus segmentation from CT scans using a spatial probability map, Johannes Feulner, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg / Siemens, Germany
  • Spatial decision forests for MS lesion segmentation in multi-channel MR images, Ezequiel Geremia, Asclepios INRIA, France / Microsoft Research Cambridge, UK
  • Segmentation subject to stitching constraints: finding many small structures in a large image, Elena Bernardis, University of Pennsylvania, USA
  • Efficient MR image reconstruction for compressed MR imaging, Junzhou Huang, Rutgers University, USA (winner)
  • ECG-gated interventional cardiac reconstruction for non-periodic motion, Christopher Rohkohl, University of Erlangen-Nuremberg / Siemens, Germany
  • MicroTrack: an algorithm for concurrent projectome and microstructure estimation, Anthony J. Sherbondy, Stanford University, USA (winner)
  • Understanding the optics to aid microscopy image segmentation, Zhaozheng Yin, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
  • Complete valvular heart apparatus model from 4D cardiac CT, Sasa Grbic, Technical University Munich, Germany / Siemens, USA (winner)
  • Improving deformable surface meshes through omni-directional displacements and MRFs,Dagmar Kainmueller, Zuse Institute Berlin, Germany
  • Prostate brachytherapy seed reconstruction using C-Arm rotation measurement and motion compensation, Ehsan Dehghan, Queen’s University, Canada (winner)
  • Dual-model automatic detection of nerve-fibres in corneal confocal microscopy images, Mohammad Dabbah, The University of Manchester, UK
  • Spatially regularized SVM for the detection of brain areas associated with stroke outcome, Rémi Cuingnet, University Pierre et Marie Curie-Paris 6, CNRS / Inserm, France (winner)
  • Novel morphometric based classification via diffeomorphic based shape representation using manifold learning, Rachel Sparks, Rutgers University, USA
  • General and efficient super-resolution method for multi-slice MRI, Dirk Poot, Erasmus Centre, Rotterdam / University of Antwerp, Netherland

Previous MICCAI Awards
  • MICCAI 2009 Young Scientist Awards
  • MICCAI 2009 Elsevier MedIA-MICCAI Prize
  • MICCAI 2008 Young Scientist Awards
  • MICCAI 2008 Elsevier MedIA-MICCAI Prize
  • MICCAI 2007 Awards

Important Dates

February 1, 2010 (Extended to February 26) Tutorial and workshop proposals
March 1, 2010 Acceptance of tutorials and workshops
March 11, 2010 Submission of full papers
April 20-22, 2010 Rebuttal of reviews
May 18, 2010 Notification of acceptance
June 18, 2010 Camera ready copy of papers due
August 1, 2010 Deadline for early bird registration
September 20-24, 2010 Tutorials, Conference, Workshops